John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards

The Institute of Politics and the John F. Kennedy Library Foundation created the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards to honor young Americans who are changing their communities – and the country – with their commitment to public service. The New Frontier Awards are presented annually to exceptional young Americans under the age of 40 whose contributions in elective office, community service, or advocacy demonstrate the impact and value of public service in the spirit of John F. Kennedy.

One award honors an elected official whose work demonstrates the impact of elective public service as a way to address public challenges. This award is known as the Fenn Award, which has been presented annually to young elected officials in honor of Dan Fenn, the Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum's first director and a member of President Kennedy's staff.

The other New Frontier Award honors an individual whose contributions in the realm of community service, advocacy, or grassroots activism have elevated the debate or changed the landscape with respect to a public issue or issues.

The recipients of the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Awards are role models for a new generation of public servants. They demonstrate the qualities President Kennedy embodied and admired: civic mindedness, pragmatism, vision, and tenacity in identifying and addressing public challenges.


2019 New Frontier Awards

Awarded to Mayor Michael Tubbs and organizers of March For Our Lives David Hogg, Edna Chavez, Ryan Deitsch, and Tyah Roberts.