National Campaign

The Spring 2021 National Campaign Conference for Civic and Political Engagement hosted by the Institute of Politics (IOP) at the Harvard Kennedy School registration was held on Friday, May 21, 2021. Thank you to all who attended! Click here for more information.


Each year, the National Campaign Committee welcomes students, faculty and administrators from more than 35 colleges and universities across the country to Harvard for the Institute of Politics's National Campaign for Political and Civic Engagement. Over the course of the weekend, we celebrate young leaders, facilitate discussions, panels, and town halls about a variety of pertinent political issues, and train students to increase civic engagement back on their campuses and in their communities. Our last conference focused on breaking down barriers to democracy in our communities and on our campuses leading up to the Presidential election in 2020. 

Founded in 2003, the IOP-led network has held annual conferences to identify collaborative projects, foster engagement in electoral politics, assist students in pursuing careers in public service, and provide a foundation in civic education. Student committee members of NAC help to plan and execute the annual conferences, plan additional programming and mentorship for network schools, and create new initiatives. On a weekly basis, students will gain skills in event planning, development of strategy for programming, and leadership overseeing NAC network schools. This year will hold much in store for NAC as the program undergoes much needed changes, and there is opportunity for committee members to guide the program's future. NAC will also host collaborative socials with other IOP programs throughout the semester to both foster community and have a good time!

Participating colleges and universities include: Allegheny College, Arizona State University, Colby College, Davidson College, Elon University, Florida International University, Franklin and Marshall College, Georgetown University, Harvard University, Howard University, Louisiana State University, Mercer University, Ohio State University, Rutgers University, Saint Anselm College, Simpson College, Spelman College, Tennessee State University, Tufts University, University of Chicago, University of Delaware, University of Florida, University of Kansas, University of Louisville, University of North Carolina, University of Oklahoma, University of Rochester, University of Southern California, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, University of Texas, Austin, University of Utah and the University of Virginia.

National Campaign Conference 2020