Apply to be an IOP Resident Fellow

We recognize the spring semester has brought many unprecedented changes to students, and that many campus programs have been impacted. We are working alongside our campus partners from across the College and the Kennedy School to ensure we make the most informed decisions possible for the IOP community and provide support for our students and Resident Fellows. 

Harvard University is currently operating in a modified manner resulting from restrictions related to the COVID-19 public health crisis. As the situation continues to change rapidly, our top priority remains the health, safety, and well-being of our community, on and off campus. The University remains open and operational with appropriate remote measures to protect the health of the community. 

As a result of COVID-19, the United States has implemented travel restrictions and the Department of State has temporarily suspended routine visa services at all United States Embassies and Consulates. The Institute of Politics adheres to all current federal, state, and local guidelines. We appreciate your patience as we work through the search process for our Fall 2020 Resident Fellows while abiding by University policies. 

Harvard College FAQs

Harvard University COVID-19 site

Harvard University travel restrictions


How to Submit an Application

The Fall 2020 Residential Fellowship application is now closed.

Application Process Timeline

Thursday, April 30 at 11:59 pm EST - Deadline to submit applications for Fall 2020 Residential Fellowship.

This is a rolling review process and applications may be evaluated as materials are submitted. 

Please contact Abbie James, Fellows Coordinator, with any questions about becoming an IOP Resident Fellow. 


Fellows and Study Groups at the Institute of Politics was founded in 1966 as one of the IOP’s oldest programs. Each semester, we are honored to welcome six Resident Fellows to campus, each a leading practitioner in their field of politics and public service. Our Fellows spend the semester leading “study groups,” discussion-style weekly seminars that are not for credit, and interacting with Harvard’s community in a variety of other ways. For more details on the Fellows and Study Groups program, please review this brochure, which details the components of the Fellowship, logistical details, and more. For more information on the study group component of the Fellowship, please review this guide

Many extraordinary individuals have contributed to our Fellows program, and we are honored that you are considering applying. We are confident that our program offers an unparalleled opportunity to join Harvard’s esteemed community, connect and engage with some of the brightest and most inspiring young people in the country, and form relationships with other leading political practitioners who serve as fellow Fellows. Our Fellows are selected through a rigorous and competitive application process that emphasizes genuine passion for mentoring students, an innovative concept for a study group to be conducted over the course of one semester, and commitment to being fully present on Harvard’s campus for roughly ten weeks.

Fall 2019 Resident Fellows kick off the semester with an open house panel moderated by IOP Director Mark D. Gearan in the JFK Jr. Forum. Left to right: Mark D. Gearan, Alice Stewart, LaTosha Brown, Senator Jeff Flake, H.E. Isabel de Saint Malo de Alvarado, Deesha Dyer, and Bob Cohn.