December 11, 2012 - Newly Elected Members of Congress to Attend Harvard Congressional Issues Conference

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                            Contact: Esten Perez
December 11, 2012                                                                             (617) 496-4009


Cambridge, MA – A bipartisan group of nearly 50 newly elected members of Congress from across the country will gather this week at the Institute of Politics (IOP), located at the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, for a conference focusing on exercising leadership in Congress and the issues that they will face. 

“We are pleased to welcome once again new members of Congress to Harvard,” said Institute of Politics Director Trey Grayson.  “This conference provides an opportunity to gain important guidance from current and former Representatives, policy experts, and key U.S. policymakers and political practitioners.”

The 20th Bipartisan Program for Newly Elected Members of Congress will run from Tuesday evening, December 11 through Friday afternoon, December 14 at Harvard Kennedy School.  The new members of Congress will participate in a variety of sessions, led by academics, practitioners, and current and former members of the U.S. House of Representatives.  Topics will include the economy and sessions on the federal budget, American power and competitiveness, Middle East policy, communications and navigating the legislative process.  One of the sessions on Thursday Dec. 13 will be open for media coverage. 

Participating newly elected members of Congress (listed alphabetically) include: Andy Barr (KY-6th, R), Joyce Beatty (OH-3rd, D), Amerish Bera (CA-7th, D), Jim Bridenstine (OK-1st, R), Susan Brooks (IN-5th, R), Julia Brownley (CA-26th, D), Cheri Bustos (IL-17th, D), Matt Cartwright (PA-17th, D), Joaquin Castro (TX-20th, D), John Delaney (MD-6th, D), Elizabeth Esty (CT-5th, D), Lois Frankel (FL-22nd, D), Tulsi Gabbard (HI-2nd, D), Pete Gallego (TX-23rd, D), Joe Garcia (FL-26th, D), Alan Grayson (FL-9th, D), Denny Heck (WA-10th, D), Richard Hudson (NC-8th, R), Jared Huffman (CA-2nd, D), Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8th, D), Joseph Kennedy III (MA-4th, D), Dan Kildee (MI-5th, D), Derek Kilmer (WA-6th, D), Ann McLane Kuster (NH-2nd, D), Alan Lowenthal (CA-47th, D), Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1st, D), Dan Maffei (NY-24th, D), Sean Maloney (NY-18th, D), Grace Meng (NY-6th, D), Patrick Murphy (FL-18th, D), Richard Nolan (MN-8th, D), Beto O’Rourke (TX-16th, D), Robert Pittenger (NC-9th, R), Mark Pocan (WI-2nd, D), Tom Rice (SC-7th, R), Raul Ruiz (CA-36th, D), Brad Schneider (IL-10th, D), Carol Shea-Porter (NH-1st, D), Kyrsten Sinema (AZ-9th, D), Steve Stockman (TX-36th, R), Eric Swalwell (CA-15th, D), Mark Takano (CA-41st, D), Juan Vargas (CA-51st, D), Marc Veasey (TX-33rd, D), Randy Weber (TX-14th, R), Brad Wenstrup (OH-2nd, R) and Ted Yoho (FL-3rd, R). 


Harvard University’s Institute of Politics (IOP), located at the John F. Kennedy School of Government, was established in 1966 as a memorial to President Kennedy.  The IOP’s mission is to unite and engage students, particularly undergraduates, with academics, politicians, activists, and policymakers on a non-partisan basis to inspire them to consider careers in politics and public service.  The Institute strives to promote greater understanding and cooperation between the academic world and the world of politics and public affairs.  More information is available online at